Max Planck Institut für Quantenoptik, Garching

The Max Planck Institute of Quantum Optics (MPQ) is a research facility of the Max Planck Society and dedicated to basic research on the interaction of light and matter. It consists of several sub divisions (Laser Spectroscopy, Quantum Dynamics, Attosecond and High-Field Physics, Theory, and the division of Quantum Many Body Systems) and six independent Junior Research Groups, with a total of more than 200 scientists. The particularly stimulating research environment at MPQ results from fruitful collaboration and expertise exchange of the different groups and divisions, making it one of the world-leading research institutions in this field. The 2005 Nobel Prize for T.W. Hänsch can be regarded as the most outstanding confirmation of this performance. MPQ is further involved in numerous collaboration projects with universities, notably the Ludwig Maximilian University, the Technical University, and the Munich Centre for Advanced Photonics (MAP), funded by the German Research Foundation (DFG), which contributes to the knowledge exchange over the borders of scientific institutions.

The host group of T. Hänsch is also involved in a large number of international collaborations with top-rated institutions such as the European Southern Observatory (Garching), the Physikalisch-Technische Bundesanstalt (Braunschweig), the Paul Scherrer Institute (Zurich), the Fraunhofer Institute for Laser Technology (Aachen), to only name a few. The in-house collaboration with the group of F. Krausz, who has significant activities in the field of intra-cavity high-harmonic generation (HHG), provides a solid basis for continuous improvement. Further world-leading MPQ research groups related to this project include the groups of I. Bloch (quantum many-body systems) and I. Cirac (theory).

The available infrastructure is – both from a scientific and technical point of view – exceptional. Its high level is assured by a dedicated team of engineers, technicians, and workshop staff. Administrative support contributes to the smooth running of the research environment.

Max-Planck-Institut für Quantenoptik
group webpage


Publications of the MPQ group

Nonlinear Pulse Compression to Sub-40 fs at 4.5 μJ Pulse Energy by Multi-Pass-Cell Spectral Broadening

Johannes Weitenberg, Tobias Saule, Jan Schulte, and Peter Rußbüldt
IEEE J. Quantum Electronics 53, 8600204 (2017)

Multi-pass-cell-based nonlinear pulse compression to 115 fs at 7.5 μJ pulse energy and 300 W average power

Johannes Weitenberg, Andreas Vernaleken, Jan Schulte, Akira Ozawa, Thomas Sartorius, Vladimir Pervak, Hans-Dieter Hoffmann, Thomas Udem, Peter Russbüldt, and Theodor W. Hänsch
Optics Express 25, 20502 (2017)

A Laser Excitation Scheme for 229mTh

Lars von der Wense, Benedict Seiferle, Simon Stellmer, Johannes Weitenberg, Georgy Kazakov, Adriana Pálffy, and Peter G. Thirolf
arXiv:1709.05524 and Phys. Rev. Lett. 119, 132503 (2017)

Contact persons

Thomas Udem

Johannes Weitenberg